Sounds Familiar

Admittedly, I was a little confused about what to write in this weeks’ blog post because I think most of us know what a remix is.  So I’ll let my shitty amateur remediations do most of the talking. But first, take a look at my favourite example of remix culture (if you haven’t already).


All forms of media are a remix of some kind; memes remix culture, news stories remix factual events (or do they? #fakenews), and films remix footage/narratives. A popular theory regarding the latter is that only 7 original storylines exist in the world.

Now, onto my own remixes. The first is of a relatively popular song – props to you if you can guess what it is before (1:03). The second is from a previous blog post of mine about fake news which is just an absolute banger I felt I should share again.


While these remixes are not the best, they demonstrate just how easy it is to transform an existing creation – we have the internet to thank for this. The first clip renders the song ‘’Covered in Chrome’’ by Violent Soho almost completely unrecognizable until (1:03), while the second embeds a Trump quote into a trap song – redefining its meaning and making it somewhat politically satirical. Because as we all know, the medium is the message.

Do you think remixes qualify as something new, or should they be considered stealing?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. jordieweb says:

    Hey Meggen! Completely agree I was very confused also about what to post for this weeks blog and it took me forever to figure out what to write. I really like your explanation and how you describe it in a really simple way, by describing how all forms of media are remixed in some way. This article really helped me understand how it was more than just music http://marketingland.com/remix-culture-rethinking-what-we-call-original-content-41791. I also loved your remixes they were really clever, took me ages to figure out the song! And loved the second one! Maybe if you linked more articles and ideas throughout your post that would also help in others understanding this idea of remix culture, but otherwise so good! 🙂

    Like

    1. meggenp says:

      Thanks for the comment Jordie, I’ll check out that link! Will try to put more links in next time 🙂

      Like

  2. I was also in the same position as you and Jordie!! I thought your sound cloud remixes were really interesting and embodied the whole topic of ‘remix culture’ perfectly. In regard to your question; I think that in some cases remixes do qualify as something new. However, there is always that one instance where I would consider it stealing; if there is only limited editing done, and the purpose is not solely for entertainment, (rather for consumerism) I would maybe claim it to be ‘stealing’. However, as nearly all art and media is public, we cannot always make that claim. That’s where copyright comes in! this is a link about the problem of copyright in remix culture if you have time to check it out!; http://www.wipo.int/wipo_magazine/en/2015/03/article_0006.html
    I loved your example; but would’ve been interested to see you elaborate on the ‘7 original story lines’ theory; I have no idea what that is (not sure if it’s just me being under a rock ahaha). It was hard to think of something to write this week, but you did an excellent job!!

    Like

    1. meggenp says:

      Thanks for the comment girl!

      Like

  3. xiaoyubang says:

    Hi Meggen, for me I was really dislike remix in music, maybe that refer to a large proportion of remix music in China are not sound such good. However, thanks for your blog, that help me to understand ‘remix’ in a totally different way. In such idea, i totally agree the comment by Jordie. I love your first remix soundtrack that is a really creative idea to make such remix. I also counting on the new art from you.Such an excellent idea in such fantastic blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The question you posed is a tricky one to answer, mainly because of issues with copyrighting and record label ownership. Personally I think remixes are another way for the public to express themselves and their ideas freely, and simultaneously, contribute to the public sphere. If the ‘remixes are a form of stealing’ attitude is favoured and continues, it could kill the drive for creativity. This would impinge upon the colourful array of materials we have out there created by the former audience and would consequently have a backwards effect on the modern role of the audience in the age of technology. Remix culture introduces new opportunities to build on and better creative works and allows the imagination to run wild. I think this point becomes clear when listening to your remediations, which is awesome. Just imagine if remixing culture ceased to exist, think about all the awesome remixes in songs, news reports, stories, movies etc. that are available to us and then think about having to live without them. It is a horrible idea to fathom. Anyway, awesome read, thanks for generating this discussion. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. meggenp says:

    Hi Alex, thanks for the comment! Completely agree with you. I think that remixes are great, and sometimes they are even better than the original – it shouldn’t be considered stealing. What I don’t like is when pop artists sample an older song, and take credit for it when they’ve barely changed anything at all. As long as the original artist is acknowledged, I think remixes are perfectly acceptable! 🙂

    Like

  6. josiehowl says:

    loving your soundcloud! i actually never really thought about it that basically everything is a remix these days, but i totally agree. It is super hard to come up with something that is 100% pure and original, however if something is remixed in a way that is purely repetition or plagiarism, we still find it entertaining and not boring. I also really enjoyed the article you hyperlinked in your post, it was really interesting and actually super thought-provoking. Your analysis of this was fresh and I really enjoyed it. Good job!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. meggenp says:

    Thanks for the comment! I agree, sometimes I think the remix is better than the original.. It’s such an interesting film theory hey. Thankyou 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

